The Thornbirds

The first book on my new blog. The Thorn Birds. No, it’s not a South African book I know, and this blog won’t just be about South African books and films. I will of course blog about South African and African stories, but I’m not going to focus only on South African/African content.

I was a teenager when I watched the Mini Series starring Richard Chamberlain and Rachel Ward, not mention a number of other well known actors and actresses. It is a tragic story of forbidden love. Over twenty years later I have finally gotten around to reading the book. It’s a long yarn, nearly six hundred pages and if that’s what you’re into, it’s well worth the read. I was caught up in every word, and thoroughly enjoyed the book, despite it’s almost overwhelming underlying sadness. I felt the book was telling me that the best of love may well be the hardest and that we all have our flaws, but when we accept them, life becomes a little easier, but at the end of the day, life is never easy, no matter how matter what your background. I’ve never been to Australia but reading the book I could imagine I was there, due to Colleen McCoullough’s rich descriptiveness.

I have been reading mostly on kindle for the last two years. Even two years ago, Kindles were not available in South African shops, only in the last year have they become available. A bit slow on the uptake I know. Luckily for me, I was given a kindle as a birthday present two years ago and one thing I must admit I have enjoyed about it, is reading stories by authors I wouldn’t have otherwise read, had it not been for kindle. All those “unknown” authors. Authors who I’m sure would love to have the opportunity to be seen on a level footing with the bestselling authors. Sure, some of those books have been good books and some have been average, but mostly they’ve given me a good deal of reading pleasure. It’s not to say I haven’t bought any books by the more well known writers recently, I have, but thanks to self publishing and Kindle, I’ve been able to read a wider variety of books and give those “unknowns” a chance.

That said, I read The Thorn Birds in paperback. It’s about $5.00 on kindle, but I got it for R10 which is about a dollar I guess, at the local hospice book shop, where many a gem of a book can be found at a bargain, and all for a good cause. Good to read a “real” book for a change, and actually turn a page, and smell the mustiness of an old book.

