The posts I’ve done so far have been about books, so seeing as I did call this the ……Book and Film Blog, I think it’s about time I did a post about film.  I have always loved film, be it on the small screen or big screen.   When I was about ten or so, I decided I wanted to be an actress.  I would watch Dallas every week, and I decided I wanted to be like Pam and Sue Ellen, and be married to a handsome man who wore a cowboy hat/stetson.  Never mind that I was a shy kid, and at the time lived in a small Zimbabwean farming town and the men didn’t wear cowboy hats.  Anyway.  I digress.  Back to Dallas.  It was the first soapie I ever watched, – and yes, it even showed in Zimbabwe in the eighties.  We weren’t totally backward back then and we didn’t have elephants and lions roaming around our small town.  Believe it or not, my hometown had a Cinema called the Sundowner.  Quite civilized.  At home, we only had a black and white television, so going to the cinema was always a treat being able to watch in colour and on the big screen.  Before high school, I would often cycle to the cinema, especially for the Friday or Saturday matinees for us kids.  Bud Spencer and Terrance Hill movies were often matinee favourites.  My preteen years saw me watching Superman, Spiderman,  Star Wars, ET, Indiana Jones etc. A couple of other movies that stick out for me then, for some reason, were Coal Miner’s Daughter (about Loretta Lynn)  and Neil Diamond in Jazz Singer. and    There were also the animations that I enjoyed, particularly The Lady and the Tramp and The Fox and the Hound.  Which makes me think of Old Yeller and sobbing my heart out.

My teenage years saw me watching the likes of Say Anything, St Elmo’s Fire, Fame, Karate Kid, Top Gun, Dirty Dancing, Rocky, Gorillas in the Mist and more.

All good things must come to an end, and so I left town, heading for better and bigger things, with stars in my eyes. No, I didn’t make it big like Charlize Theron.  Apparently her hissy fit in a bank got her noticed, – as for me, I was too demure for that sort of behaviour, hence the fact that I never became an actress.  I ended up in a South African city and while not huge in comparison to the likes of New York (the city I dreamed of as a teenager) it was certainly considerably bigger to my small Zimbabwean hometown.  Not long after I started working, the shopping center just down the road from where I worked and lived, opened up a cinema complex.   I didn’t have a car at the time, so it was an easy walk to the Cascades Cinema in my spare time. By then it was the start of the 90’s and a new era for me.  I watched plenty of movies back then.  Some of my favourites were Ghost, Dances with Wolves,  Point Break, Robin Hood Prince of Thieves, Silence of the Lambs, Forrest Gump, Prince of Tides, Fried Green Tomatoes, Steel Magnolias, A Few Good Men, Mrs Doubtfire and Sleepless in Seattle.  Once again, all good things must come to an end, and a few years after I was married, the Cascades Cinemas closed, probably due to the burgeoning market of “home entertainment”.  The days of cinema, were for me, magical days. The last movie I watched at the cinema was Elysium – about a year ago.  Quite sad really that I probably only go to the cinema around once a year now.  Mostly I watch my movies on television or on my laptop.  How times have changed.

