When I was in high school, history was my favourite subject. I remember reading about JFK and Abraham Lincoln.  Bear in mind though, that I am not American.  I was born in Zimbabwe, where I grew up and went to school and left the country just before I turned eighteen.  I am of mostly English descent, so in other other words I am a white ex Zimbabwean and now a South African citizen.  I mention my background just to give one an understanding of my perspective about American history. I don’t claim to be a history buff at all, I simply enjoy reading about historical events.  I went to a private school in Zimbabwe, and we were taught from the O Level curriculum, which was modelled on the British school system.  Zimbabwe after all, had once been an English/British colony, so the English influence was still felt, even in the mid to late eighties, after independence, when I was in high school.  The history I was taught in high school, for my O Level exam, was mostly on the Second World War.  We learned about men like Gandhi and JFK. I remember vaguely learning about the Bay of Pigs but not quite understanding what it was really all about.  What interested me more about JFK were the “coincidences/similarities” between the assassinations of JFK and Lincoln.  We weren’t actually taught about it, but I remember reading about it in a book my parents had and being quite fascinated by it.

A year or so ago, I read Killing Lincoln and really enjoyed it.  I felt taken back in time, and could almost feel like I was there. I didn’t really know much about the civil war at the time, so the book gave me more of an insight into it, and into the life of Abraham Lincoln.  I had downloaded Killing Kennedy at the same time I downloaded Killing Lincoln, but never got around to reading to it.  I finished reading it a few days (not intentionally) before the 51st anniversary of his death on November the 22nd.  Like the latter book, I was drawn into the life of Kennedy, and the build up to his death.  If one is looking for a good conspiracy story, this is not the book to read.  It is more of an historical account of the politics of that era, and of the personal life of JFK, his experiences in WW11, his time in the white house, and of course his reputation as a playboy. However, I certainly am highly skeptical of the “official” story that Lee Harvey Oswald was the lone gunman, just wanting to kill Kennedy, really because he was an angry man and his wife wouldn’t take him back (they were separated) and this is the line the book seems to take, that Oswald was the lone assassin.  Nevertheless, it was still a good and interesting read.

