thirteen-hours

A roller coaster of a ride, this story is set mostly on the streets of Cape Town, about a young woman’s fight to stay alive, while being hunted by brutal thugs.  I think it’s a great book, capturing the real essence of the racial melting pot of South Africa.   Let’s face it, South Africa is known for it’s high crime rate, and it’s violent criminals and this is Deon Meyer’s fodder.  It’s gritty reading, but it’s good.  Trackers was the first Meyer book I read, and Thirteen Hours is the second.  I enjoyed Trackers, but Thirteen Hours was even better.  I will certainly be reading  his other books.

I think I over enthusiastically set myself the goal, on GoodReads of reading 52 books this year.  A book a week.  Which means I’ve already got catching up to do.  Somehow, I don’t quite think so!

