the bone woman

My fourth book for this year was not a particularly light read.  I can’t imagine digging up bodies for a living.  As a nurse I’ve seen dead bodies, but those bodies aren’t ones that have been cut up with machetes, as in Rwanda in 1994 or shot during the Bosnian War in the 90’s.  I’ve had people say to me “I can’t imagine being a nurse and doing what you have to do.”  Well, I can’t imagine doing what people like Clea Koff do.  Each to their own and respect to the likes of her for doing it.  It was interesting reading the Amazon reviews for the book.  She got some flak for not showing enough emotion and for being too over confident.  Well, when you are working in a church that has bloody hand prints on the walls, I would say one would need to be able to distance ones self from letting it get to you, in order to do your job professionally.  How do people know what she goes through in private, and what emotion she feels – she wrote about her nightmares, I’d say that’s emotion.  Considering she was in her early twenties when she began in Rwanda, she was young, and then she wrote the book ten years or so later, I would reckon that anthropology is not a common career choice for young people, so I’m not surprised that some people thought she was over confident.  I’ve read a fair bit about Rwanda but not much the Bosnian War.  I found the part about hospital staff and patients getting taken out of the hospital, and forced into trucks and taken to their deaths, particularly chilling.  Not to mention people being hacked to death in a church.  Mankind at it’s absolute worst.  Again, not a light read, but in some ways by reading a book like that, one is hopefully keeping the memory alive, of all those innocent people who lost their lives unnecessarily, murdered in absolute cold blood.

